About Jamie What is Somatic Expression? Calendar Photography Somatic Expression Articles Somatic Expression Links Somatic Expression Products Contact Jamie McHugh Home Page

“Each day we are challenged to live our nature as a healthy soma in a body-phobic culture. To breathe, move, wiggle and hum with delight is our birthright and our destiny.” - Jamie

“Jamie McHugh is not adequately nor accurately described by words like dancer or movement therapist - he is much more for which there are no good words. Transformative artist may approach his ability to utilize the non-verbal (movement, vocalization, drawing) not only expressively but also conjointly with the psychological/ insightful to promote a healing integration of awareness." - George F. Solomon, M.D., Psychiatry and Biobehavioral
Sciences, UCLA

"Jamie's teachings and technologies of amplification, slowing down, bringing in breath or sound, repeating micro movements that come from a felt inner sensing, or working with opposite impulses (to name just a few!) help to bring a more intimate relationship with what is alive in the moment and what maybe wants to be born." - Jeremy, psychotherapist

"We have a rich cross-cultural legacy of both contemplative and expressive practices at our disposal. How do we draw upon and update them to meet the conditions of the modern mind living in an industrialized body within an urban environment?" - Jamie

"All the principles of heaven and earth are living inside you. Everything in heaven and earth breathes. Breath is the thread that ties creation together."  - Morihei Ueshiba, founder of Aikido

“Bringing broad knowledge and understanding of the human being, Jamie opens up a world of experiencing your body from the inside out. I have learned so much and value what he offers; in today's times of 'disconnect', his work truly allows us to access what is important and meaningful.” - Joy, Dancer and Teacher

Somatic Expression Calendar

Shown are course start dates. Click on course title for complete information.

Information about individual sessions can be found here

I am committed to making this work accessible and affordable to all, and have created financial policies and options to support that vision. Click here for policies.

The calendar is constantly updated.
Contact Jamie to receive his newsletter 2x/month. Sample newsletters here

February 2024

February 25: Tending and Befriending our Inner Ecosystem
Online - 9am-noon PT/ noon-3pm ET/ 18:00-21:00 CET

March 2024

March 18-May 6: Thinking Body, Sensing Mind Online
Series L 8 Mondays 4-5:15pm PT/7-8:15pm ET

March 20-May 8: Thinking Body, Sensing Mind Online
Series M 8 Wednesdays 10-11:15am PT/ 1-2:15pm ET/
19-20:15 CET

March 21: Earth Matters: Ecosomatics in the Anthropocene Episode 5 Online
10-11am PT/1-2pm ET/ 19-20:00 CET


April 2024

April 6: Tending and Befriending our Inner Ecosystem Online
9am-noon PT/ noon-3pm ET/ 18:00-21:00 CET

April 18: Earth Matters: Ecosomatics in the Anthropocene Episode 6 Online
10-11am PT/1-2pm ET/ 19-20:00 CET


May 2024

May 16-20: Embodying Nature, Becoming Ourselves
Dax, France

May 24-26: Somatic Contemplations and Emergent Expression
Dortmund, Germany


June 2024

June 9: Unplug to Connect - Introduction to Embodied Mindfulness
Free Introductory Class: 10-11am PT/1-2pm ET/ 19-20:00 CET

June 23: Tending and Befriending our Inner Ecosystem Online
9am-noon PT/ noon-3pm ET/ 18:00-21:00 CET

 

July 2024

July 7: Unplug to Connect - Introduction to Embodied Mindfulness
Free Introductory Class: 10-11am PT/1-2pm ET/ 19-20:00 CET

September 2024

September 15: Tending and Befriending our Inner Ecosystem Online
9am-noon PT/ noon-3pm ET/ 18:00-21:00 CET

September 23-December 9: Thinking Body, Sensing Mind Online
Series N - 12 Mondays 4-5:15pm PT/7-8:15pm ET

September 25-December 11: Thinking Body, Sensing Mind Online
Series O - 12 Wednesdays 10-11:15am PT/ 1-2:15pm ET/
19-20:15 CET

October 2024

October 1-December 17: Embodied Mindfulness Online
Module 1

12 Tuesdays, 10-11:30am PT/ 1-2:30pm ET/ 19-20:30 CET

October 19 & 20: Somatic Expression® Lab Series Online
(5 Month Series begins)
9-Noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 18-21:00 CET

October 27: Embodied Mindfulness Online Module 2 Seminar 9am-noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 17-20:00 CET


November 2024

November 16 & 17: Somatic Expression® Lab Series Online
9-Noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 18-21:00 CET


December 2024

December 8: Embodied Mindfulness Online Module 2 Seminar 9am-noon PT/ Noon

Somatic Expression® Lab Series Online
9-Noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 18-21:00 CET

December 22: Winter Deep Rest
Online, 10-11:15am PT/ 1-2:15pm ET/ 19-20:15 CET

January 2025

January 11 & 12: Somatic Expression® Lab Series Online
9-Noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 18-21:00 CET


February 2025

February 8 & 9: Somatic Expression® Lab Series Online
9-Noon PT/ Noon-3 ET/ 18-21:00 CET

Emilie Conrad 1934-2014

My tribute video can be found here

 

Pomo Healer Lorin Smith
1935-2019

photo by Rick Chapman

 

Anna Halprin 1920-2021